YEAR: 1981
STYLE: Progressive Rock
FORMAT: APE (Image + Log + Cue + Scans + 5% Recovery)
SIZE: 253 Mb
THE BAND: Juan Carlos Gutierrez / keyboards and vocals; Tivo Martinez / drums; Juanjo Respuela / acoustic and electric guitars; Sixto Ruiz / guitar and bass
A Spanish Progressive band with a few albums out. BLOQUE blend synth and Spanish vocals with electric and acoustic guitar (lots of electric) in a wide variety of styles (some people dislike this). They were strongly influenced by the jazz, flamenco, and hard rock (a cross between THIN LIZZY and BLACK SABBATH).
"Hombre Tierra Y Alma" is strongly of the 70's italian scene with a strong folk- influenced feel in a way similar to BANCO or PFM. "El Hijo del Alba" is also excellent. Their best is "Musica Para La Libertad" which includes the incredible instrumental tracks. Highly recommended!
I purchased this album in the early Nineties when I reacted on an add in the former Spanish progrock magazine "Sirius". Spanish proghead Angel Romero (now living in the USA) offered his entire LP collection because of his 'dust-allergy'. How sad for him, how lucky for me! This album is a good example of the unique and delicate Spanish progrock.
The first two tracks "Pesadilla de vivir" and "El poder de la libertad" are tasteful mid-tempo rock songs with strong vocals and nice work on guitar. The third "Anoranza" is very compellingl featuring a kind of bluesy symphonic rock with warm Spanish vocals and wonderful choir-Mellotron waves. The final song on side 1 entitled "Camino del universo" sounds pleasant and catchy delivering delicate and varied work on keyboards and fine rhythm guitar.
Side two starts with the catchy track "Tau ceti" featuring a tight and propulsive rhythm-section, lots of powerful and fiery electric guitar runs and some beautiful choir-Mellotron, what a captivating combination! Then "Detinido de la materia", an alternating piece with strong electric guitar work along powerful Spanish vocals, fiery saxophone and wonderful keyboard sounds. "Solo sentimiento" is a dreamy song delivering impressive choir-Mellotron, mellow organ waves, warm vocals and sensitive electric guitar play, very beautiful. The final track "Magico y salvaje" has a slow rhythm with a cathcy beat and fiery and heavy electric guitar runs, another original musical idea from this unique Spanish progrock band.
Track Listing:
The Band:
- Juan Carlos Gutierrez / keyboards and vocals
- Tivo Martinez / drums
- Juanjo Respuela / acoustic and electric guitars
- Sixto Ruiz / guitar and bass
Для удобного и быстрого скачивания с HOFILE используйте